Poll: Which genre?
You do not have permission to vote in this poll.
Gothic Horror
66.67%
2 66.67%
Action Romp
33.33%
1 33.33%
Total 3 vote(s) 100%
* You voted for this item. [Show Results]

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Gothic Horror or Action Romp?
I would like the collective power of this forum to help me make a decision about a film.

I am a writer. My latest book is called GOLGOATH, it is a contemporary work similar (whilst also being not very similar, but I know you will need a frame of referance) to Clive Barker and Dean Koontz.

My writing style is very visual, I tend to write much the same as an editor creates scenes, switching between events as viewed from different character's perspectives; but I include only as much detail as is neeeded to set the scene, preferring the readers imagination to create the rest.

(bear with me, I'm getting to the point!)

I have always intended the novel to also become a screenplay aimed at a wide audience, but the story could just as well as either a thoughtful gothic horror such as The Crow, Bram Stoker's Dracula, Interview With the Vampire or Frankenstein, or as an action romp with horror aspects such as The Mummy, Blade, Van Helsing etc.

My question for you is: Which direction should I go?

Gothic Horror or Action Romp

Here is a brief Synopsis (you can learn more about the book from my site, google phil tinsley)

"The ‘Vassal Syntagma’ banished the medieval invaders of our world forever with the great work ‘Exilium Stygian’. In the centuries that followed its members acted as protectors and guardians to our whorl of the spiral, battling any Stygian who were powerful enough to breach the great barrier, until there were only two protectors left. Golgoath, a powerful Psionicist and Lubloy, the last Druidic Mage.